Battle Pass and Battlefield Pro
Each Battlefield 6 season has one battle pass of 100+ tiers shared with REDSEC, with weapons on the free track; the premium pass costs 1,100 Battlefield Coins (about $9.99) and Battlefield Pro, the top tier with 25 tier skips, $24.99, as EA has priced them since Season 1.
Every Battlefield 6 season has one battle pass, shared with REDSEC, of 100+ tiers with free and premium rewards; EA puts "all functional content such as Weapons" on the free track, so the premium pass sells cosmetics and XP boosts. The premium pass has cost 1,100 Battlefield Coins (BFC), about $9.99, and Battlefield Pro, the higher tier with 25 tier skips, $24.99, in every season whose price EA published. As of Nov 8, 2026 the Season 5 pass is on sale, with 6 instant unlocks, 4 themed paths and 100+ tiers.
Quick facts
| Tiers | 100+ a season |
| Free track | Weapons, gadgets and some cosmetics |
| Premium pass | 1,100 BFC (about $9.99), Seasons 1 and 3; Season 2 price not stated by EA |
| Battlefield Pro | $24.99 MSRP, real money only |
| Pro adds | Premium pass, 25 tier skips, 15% XP boost, 6 instant unlocks, Bonus Path, 100-player Portal server |
| Earnable BFC | 100 (free Recruit tier 3) and 200 (premium Prestige tier 10), Season 1 |
| Shared with | REDSEC, on one EA account and across platforms |
| Old pass items | May return to the store 3+ months later, since Season 4 |
| Current | Season 5 pass, from Oct 13, 2026 |
Sources: EA, Introducing the battle pass, Oct 28, 2025; EA, Season 3 battle pass, May 12, 2026; EA, Battle pass content update, Jul 10, 2026.
How the battle pass works
You earn battle pass XP one for one with Career XP, from kills, assists, revives, objectives and match completion, in multiplayer and REDSEC alike, plus daily and weekly challenges. A pass is split into paths you choose between. Season 1's had a 5-tier Recruit Path, four branching 22-tier paths (Rogue Operations, Deniable Operations, Soldiers of Fortune, Pacific Ghosts), a 7-tier Ultimate Path and a 10-tier Prestige Path, with seasonal paths for each phase; later seasons kept the shape, four themed paths and an Ultimate and Prestige path at the end. Season 3's paths were Tiger Shark, Warlord Hunters, Warlords Command and Smuggled Goods, with Black Talons as the Ultimate Path.
You can switch paths at any time and come back to one later without losing progress, as creator shockwavez showed on Oct 29, 2025; finishing all four opens the Ultimate and Prestige paths. Bonus Paths sit beside the pass for a phase or an event: Winter Offensive's 11 tiers ended with the free Ice Climbing Axe, Season 1's Frostfire Bonus Path took 110 points earned only from weekly challenges, and Season 3's Explosive Charge path put the PP-19 at tier 11. A Bonus Path usually has a free track and premium tiers that need the season's pass. Progression in general is on Progression and Unlocks.
Free and premium: what you get
| Free | Premium pass | Battlefield Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Weapons and gadgets of the season | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Free-track cosmetics | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| All 100+ premium tiers | No | Yes | Yes |
| Instant unlocks | No | Yes (6 in Season 5) | Yes, plus Pro's own |
| Pass progression boost | No | 10% (Season 1) | 15% |
| Tier skips | No | No | 25 |
| Persistent Portal server | No | 64 players (Season 1) | 100 players |
| Pro-only items | No | No | Yes, such as an extra vehicle radio station |
| Price | Free | 1,100 BFC | $24.99 |
Our table, from EA's Season 1 battle pass post, the Season 2 roadmap and the 2.1.1.0 notes. Season 1's premium instant unlocks were Brodie, a Pax Armata Support soldier, two class skins, the SOR-300SC "Wild Beast" weapon package, a parachute, a 30-minute Career XP boost, a 10% Global XP boost and persistent server hosting.
Battlefield Coins and Battlefield Pro
Battlefield Coins are the game's premium currency, sold in bundles on every store (Steam lists five) and used for the premium pass and store items. Insider Gaming listed 1,100 BFC at $9.99, exactly one pass. EA's Season 1 post names 100 BFC at free Recruit tier 3 and 200 at premium Prestige tier 10; shockwavez counted 1,100 BFC in all for finishing the whole Season 1 pass, enough to buy the next one, a figure we could not match to EA's post.
Battlefield Pro cannot be bought with coins; it is a $24.99 purchase, sold on Steam as a DLC named for its season ("Season 5 Battlefield Pro"). The Phantom Edition at launch included a Pro token for Season 1, and the Game of the Year Edition includes a Battlefield Pro Token for whichever season it is first redeemed in (Price and Editions).
Prices by season
| Season | Premium pass | Battlefield Pro | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Season 1 | 1,100 BFC | $24.99 | EA, Oct 28, 2025 |
| Season 2 | Not stated by EA | Sold, with 25 tier skips | EA, Feb 12, 2026 |
| Season 3 | 1,100 BFC | $24.99 | EA, May 12, 2026 |
| Season 4 | Not found in EA's posts | Sold | EA's Season 4 posts |
| Season 5 | Not found in EA's posts | Sold on Steam as "Season 5 Battlefield Pro" | Steam, read Nov 8, 2026 |
For Season 5, WhosImmortal's Oct 13, 2026 walkthrough shows the first themed path, Audacious Breach, mixing weapon packages, XP boosters, Battlefield Coins and the new Mk 24 rifle. Where EA's posts give no price we leave the cell empty rather than guess. Store prices outside the US differ by currency.
Progression speed changes
Players called the pass slow at launch, and EA sped it up several times. On Oct 17, 2025 match completion XP rose 10% and daily bonus XP 40%. Season 2 brought faster battle pass tokens through Career XP and weekly challenges, and Nightfall's new XP curve made early ranks about twice as fast. By Jul 15, 2026, EA said battle pass progression was about 2.5 times faster than in Season 1. REDSEC's battle royale challenges counting toward the pass were one of the main complaints of its launch week (Season 1).
The store and the cosmetics debates
Battlefield 6 was sold on "realistic and grounded" soldiers, and its cosmetics have drawn criticism each year. Season 1's bright outfits were called "meme skins", and one was pulled within days. In March 2026 Dexerto reported players citing heavy monetization and generative-AI-looking cosmetics as reviews fell. Season 5's paid skins brought the same charge, with a "Secuty" typo patch and a skin with five identical pistols; Kotaku noted there is no confirmation that AI was used. For scale, Season 4's Helix Legacy and Helix Resolve bundles cost 2,400 BFC each, more than two battle passes.
Since Season 4, some battle pass items may come back to the store at least three months after their pass ends; instant unlocks and Ultimate and Prestige items stay exclusive to their season.
What we think
We think the base pass is fair by today's standards and Battlefield Pro is not. Weapons are free, the pass costs the same 1,100 coins every season we can check, and EA has made it faster to finish. But Pro charges $24.99, two and a half times the pass, for tier skips, a larger XP boost and a server, and the 2.5 times faster progression EA announced makes those skips worth less each season. We also think the "grounded" promise is the store's real test: a skin that looks wrong costs Battlefield more goodwill than any price.
Frequently asked questions
How much is the Battlefield 6 battle pass?
1,100 Battlefield Coins, about $9.99, in every season whose price EA published (Seasons 1 and 3). Battlefield Pro costs $24.99.
Are weapons locked behind the battle pass?
No. EA puts the season's weapons and gadgets on the free track, and players who miss them get later catch-up challenges or Career Rank unlocks.
Can you buy Battlefield Pro with Battlefield Coins?
No. Battlefield Pro is a real-money purchase, $24.99 MSRP.
Does the battle pass work in REDSEC?
Yes. One pass covers both games, and progress is shared on the same EA account across platforms.
Do old battle pass skins come back?
Some can, at least three months after their pass ends, from Season 4 on. Instant unlocks and Ultimate and Prestige items do not.
Sources
- EA, Oct 28, 2025: Introducing the Battlefield 6 battle pass
- EA, Apr 14, 2026: Progression in Battlefield 6
- EA, Jan 13, 2026: Season 1 January update
- EA, Feb 12, 2026: Season 2 roadmap
- EA, May 12, 2026: Season 3 battle pass, everything you need to know
- EA, Jul 10, 2026: Battle pass content update
- EA, Jul 15, 2026: Community Update, Naval Warfare and our journey since launch
- EA, Aug 14, 2026: Season 4 Top Gun event guide
- EA, Oct 12, 2026: Battlefield 6 Game Update 2.1.1.0
- EA, read Nov 8, 2026: Buy Battlefield 6
- Battlefield on Steam, Oct 17, 2025: progression changes
- Battlefield on Steam, Feb 10, 2026: Season 2 progression changes
- Steam, read Nov 8, 2026: Battlefield 6 store page
- Insider Gaming, Oct 2025: How to buy Battlefield Coins in Battlefield 6
- GamesRadar+, Oct 2025: New Battlefield 6 outfits under fire
- Dexerto, Mar 9, 2026: EA lays off Battlefield 6 studio staff
- Kotaku, Oct 15, 2026: Battlefield 6 gets slammed for more slop
Moments
Battlefield 6 and REDSEC | How the Battle Pass works
EA Help
Give me 180 seconds, you’ll know everything about Battlefield 6 Battle Pass
shockwavez
- You can switch paths at any time and come back to one later without losing progress, as creator shockwavez showed on…
- Our table, from EA's Season 1 battle pass post, the Season 2 roadmap and the 2.1.1.0 notes. Season 1's premium instant…
- Battlefield Coins are the game's premium currency, sold in bundles on every store (Steam lists five) and used for the…
BATTLEFIELD 6: FULL SEASON 5 BATTLE PASS! (All Battle Pass & BATTLEFIELD PRO Rewards)
WhosImmortal
See also
-
REDSECBattlefield REDSEC is Battlefield 6's free-to-play battle royale, out since Oct 28, 2025 on PS5, Xbox Series X|S and PC. As of Season 5 (Nov 8, 2026) it offers Battle Royale on Fort Lyndon, Ranked, Casual and Rapid Royale, and shares its progression and battle pass with Battlefield 6.
-
Season 5Season 5, "Siege of Vegas", is Battlefield 6's current season, live since Oct 13, 2026. Phase 1 brought Vegas Strip and Area 51, Phase 2 Casino Heist adds the European Casino map on Nov 10, and Phase 3 Frozen Aces is announced for Dec 8, without the Platoons and B-81 Cavalry that EA delayed to 2027 on Nov 6.
-
Progression and UnlocksBattlefield 6 progression runs on Career Rank, which unlocks a functional item at every rank from 2 to 50 and cosmetics after, plus assignments that unlock the last guns, gadgets and training paths, and weapon and vehicle mastery to rank 50. EA has sped it up several times since launch, most in March 2026.
-
Price and EditionsBattlefield 6 costs $69.99 for the Standard Edition and $99.99 for the Game of the Year Edition on Steam in the US as of Nov 8, 2026, and it is included with Game Pass Ultimate and PC Game Pass since Oct 13, 2026. The $99.99 Phantom Edition was the launch deluxe edition; REDSEC is free.
-
Season 1Season 1 ran from Oct 28, 2025 to Feb 17, 2026, the longest season so far after a four-week extension. Its phases Rogue Ops, California Resistance and Winter Offensive added Blackwell Fields, Eastwood and Ice Lock Empire State, and it launched the free battle royale REDSEC and Battlefield 6's first cosmetics backlash.
-
Season 2Season 2 ran from Feb 17 to May 12, 2026, four weeks later than planned, in three phases, Extreme Measures, Nightfall and Hunter/Prey, set around a German mountain airbase, with the Contaminated and Hagental Base maps, VL-7 hallucinogenic smoke and the two-map Operation Augur.